Say “BOO!”

Standard


Once-upon-time, in a galaxy far, far away I had a set of throw pillows for every holiday.  

I love the way a quick change in pillows can brighten and energize a room, but just don’t have storage for three extra sets.  Really, I don’t even know where I would put one extra set.  Thank the decorating gods for pillow covers!  

This should have been an afternoon project start to finish and I am almost embarrassed to tell you that it took me over a week.  Everything I needed was on hand, but time and children often just refuse to cooperate for me.  

One night I pulled out my fabric stash and started designing, then I had to serve supper.  A few nights later I made a paper pattern (totally unnessary by the way) and cut everything out, then got hit by a big old dose of tired.  Last night, I did the few operations that required my traditional machine and was high on the idea of finishing everything off, then I pulled out my serger and found that a certain preschooler had unthreaded it.  Finally, this morning, I employed a little girl named Dora and her monkey pal Boots to entertain the girls while I rethreaded the serger and wrapped this project up.  

Very simple!  No zipper, just a deep overlap on the back panels to hold the pillow securely inside.  Another interesting note about this project is that I am either out of or simply couldn’t find my double sided interacting, so I appliquéd the skull motif right onto the canvas backing.  It took a million pins and some slow cornering, but it really wasn’t the mess I anticipated it being.  


Dora only works for a limited time!  This sleepy , diaper baby decided to claim all the pillows for herself and only agreed to return them if she were in the photos.   


I think maybe I need to change out the throws on the arm chair to make things a bit more cohesive.  

Leave a Reply

