Wrap Me Up

Standard


I ran across this image a few days ago, while wearing these pants and decided that they were just too good not to share.  After all, I wear them a few to several times a week. They go with everything from t-shirts to my favorite Lagenlook jacket and are amazingly comfortable.    

Better yet. Since they were created with stash fabric I bought years ago and a slub knit fabric from a no longer needed maternity dress, they were essentially free.  

So why hadn’t I used this amazing fabric?  To start with, it wasn’t what I thought it was.  It was my one and only order from a well known online fabric store and was listed as “embroidered cotton lawn.”  I wanted to make a flirty skirt.  What I got was actually embroidered cotton broadcloth.  Big difference. Also, the base fabric was originally white.

Back to the story at hand.  

When I got the idea to make a pair of pants from this yardage, the first thing that had to be addressed was color.  White pants just don’t suit my life.  So, I broke into my stash of RIT dye and fixed that right up.  

Then I drafted my pattern right onto the fabric.  The pieces looked somewhat like this.


Please note, my diagram is not to scale! I cut the leg and pocket from my embroidered cotton and the waistband and tie from the upcycled dress. In addition, I applied a decorative trim of the knit around the hem and at the top of the pocket.  

It was one of those start to finish, one evening makes and it was probably some of the most valuable time I’ve spent at my machine in years.  The amount of wear I get out of these pants is astounding.  

When I was tossing around the idea of creating these, I really wondered how well they would fit into my life.  

Would they stay up?  Are they practical for a busy mama?  

Absolutely!  


However, next time I make them I will change a few things. Most notably, I intend to drop the crotch a bit more since it seems to pull about the butt and hips when I’m up and down with the kids. Also, instead of making them sandal length, I plan to add about 3 inches. Nothing big and I certainly am going to make another pair.  

2 thoughts on “Wrap Me Up

Leave a Reply

