Pretty Close to Perfection

Standard

Say “hello” to my new favorite top! 

I sure feels good when a make comes out exactly how you planned, especially when it is made from a pattern that you feel kicked your butt not that long ago.  This “Pretty Perfect” tunic was made using the same pattern as my not so great charcoal tunic earlier this fall.  Just after a few changes, of course.   

After taking an inch off each side, moving the darts, narrowing shoulders, lenthing the sleeves, and adding side gussets it was the perfect size and style.  I suppose I should have just used a smaller size, but I am infamously cheap and when the smallest size in the envelope (one size smaller than my measurements) is still mammothly huge I just make do.  I am going to get every penny I can out of this thrift store pattern.  

Talking about pennies…this entire sew was rediculously cheap, even though it doesn’t look it.  It was made from 2.5 yards of 6o wide crepe (I originally thought it was poly crepe, but from the way it behaves when wet I have decided it must be a poly-rayon blend) that has a lovely drape and weight.  It was a $3.00 thrift store find.  The “artsy lady” interior is a poly lining fabric that I bought an entire blot of of $1.00 a yard several years ago.  All together, with out subtracting the left over crepe, I have less than $5 in this tunic.

Use a darning needle to pull your serger “tails” back through the stitches for a nice finish.

Even though I lined this top, I used my serger a lot on this project.  I stitched then serged, but next time of this top I will serge all my pieces before stitching to avoid crowding in the gusset area.  

I also used my serger to make a rolled hem for this garment.  Since I was unsure how to deal with my hanging “tails” on the hem, I used hand stitches to tack them down.  It appears to have worked nicely, but I won’t really know until I launder the top.  

When afixing the lining at the armhole I did cheat a bit (having three small children, I allow myself to do that once-in-a-while).  I just zig-zagged the two serged edges together.  Not quite professional, but it is still quite neat and tidy so, I accept it for what it is.  

Wow!  My only pair of LuLaRue leggings are getting a bit big.  It’s sad because I love the houndstooth, but exciting because it means I’m trimming back down.

Really, I promise I’m just about done bragging for the time being.  First, I have to say one more time that I love, love, love this top and then I need to mention the wool scarf.  It’s another me-make.  I knit it for my husband the first winter we were dating and it is wonderfully warm and cozy.  I am wearing it here because I was just about to head to the grocery store when hubby shot these photos (I wanted him to shot outside, but he said it was too cold to stand around in the yard) and it makes a great accessory.   

5 thoughts on “Pretty Close to Perfection

  1. way to go! this is so great. I wish (so badly) that i knew how to sew. My husband is working on a quilt project and I sit and watch him with envy as he uses his machine so easily. Some day he’ll teach me. Til then i’ll just live vicariously through all my sewing friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

