Love In A Bowl

Standard

This past week, I was minding my own business (for once), going through the checkout with every single package of marked down chicken in the store when I was suddenly the center of attention.  The cashier, a woman in her mid 50’s, asked what I was going to do with all that chicken.  Laughing, I told her that my husband was from the South and I was stocking up to make chicken and dumplings.  (As my dear friend K would say, chicken and dumplings is his love language.)  

“Oh, do you put celery in your chicken soup?” The cashier asked.

“Yes, along with onions and carrots.”

“How do you make your dumplings?  Do you use Bisquick or biscuits in the roll?”

I stared at her dumbfounded.  Bisquick?  

“You know, to make the dumplings…” She prompted.

“Um…um…I make mine from scratch.”  I stammered, looking around in a daze. 

“How?”  This time the voice was from behind me.  I turned to see a pretty 20-something staring at me with expectation.

“With flour and eggs, baking powder…  It’s easy…”At this point, I should have just rattled off my recipe, but I was still befuddled.  I had never heard of making dumplings any way other than from scratch.  Maybe I’m behind the times (my husband does say that I cook like his great grandmother).

While intriguing in hindsight, the incounter didn’t end with me looking highly intelligent.  I think I mumbled something about “rolled dumpling, Google it.”  

Great answer smarty!  So in attempt to make the world a better place, one bowl of soup at a time, and maybe save some face I am going to share my recipe now.

Rolled Dumplings

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 TBL baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 gallon (or more) simmering broth/stock

Start by making a good flavorful broth or stock.  Get it heating on the stove and if you are using stock you made previously add any vegetables/meat you may want…don’t forget salt!

In a large bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Clear a well in the center of the mixed ingredients and drop the eggs and milk.  Whisk slightly with a fork before incorporating into the dry ingredients.  

Once the dough is mixed, plop it out onto a floured counter top and dust with flour. Roll out into a big sheet like you would if making cookies or biscuits, the thickness depends on personal preference.  I roll mine out to 1/4 inch since hubby likes rather roubust dumplings, but thinner makes a more delicate noodle-like dumpling that some folks prefer.  

Using a butter knife, cut the dough into one inch strips then cut across the strips in two inch intervals to create individual dumplings.


One by one, drop the dumplings into the simmering broth.  As the pot begins to fill up, you will have to stir down the dumplings on top to make room for each new addition.  Luckily, these are not like fragile drop dumplings and will not fall apart and make a mess in your soup.  

When you have all the dumplings in the pot, turn the heat down slightly.  Cover and let simmer for 45 minutes or until the dumplings are tender.

There you have it easy and comforting!  It also ends up being a very budget friendly meal.  Last time I made chicken and dumplings I figured out that I fed the 5 of us 4 meals for less than $8.  

  



Leave a Reply

